How to Study for Finals Week

Hey y’all,

I know it’s been a while, but I am back and ready to let you all in on a few tricks that I’ve picked up on!

For those of you that are studying on the quarter system, it’s crunch time! Finals week is just around the corner and it’s TERRIFYING.

If you’re anything like me, then you’ve procrastinated until the very last second and now feel like a big ball of stress. I know. It sucks, but we have got to keep going. We must finish off the quarter strong and then we can all relax on the beach during Spring Break. We’re almost done all that’s left is studying for those exams.

Studying for exams can be tricky and super boring, let’s be honest here. But we all need to take them and no one wants to fail the course we paid for so you have to study. Here are a few examples of how I keep myself motivated:

  1. Buy new stationary because literally every time I buy new stuff I want to use it right away. It’s like my inner child just bought a new toy. I literally bought some mid-liner markers during midterm season so that I would keep studying. It was effective and my notes were fabulously color-coated.
  2. Use food as your prize. If you finish reading a chapter in that book for your literature class, treat yo’self to a bit of candy. If you finish something huge like a research paper, then you gotta go all out and treat yo’self to a full meal or go get some ice cream. Make yourself feel good about accomplishing something.
  3. If you’re tired, take a nap and then try again later. You guys have no idea how much a nap can make a difference. Sometimes I force myself to stay awake and I take forever to finish an assignment because I’m that tired. It would just be easier to sleep for a little bit and then get back into the grind. Besides, you can’t be producing A-level work if you’re literally dying.
  4. If you feel yourself getting distracted, MOVE! If you know that the environment you’re in isn’t going to let you get your work done, then you need to get up and go somewhere else. I have the attention span of a two year old, so if there’s something distracting in that room, I gtg.

 

I hope these few tips will somewhat help you get through your exams! Good luck everyone!!

 

-Alexis

Leave a Reply

