Hacks to Staying Awake During Lecture

Lectures can be really boring.

I would be lying if I said I was captivated by my professor droning on and on about Henry David Thoreau in his monotone voice every single day. I understand. Sometimes, even though they might be your favorite subject, a class might just be so boring. You may have had a bad night of sleep the day before, or maybe you just need rest. Whatever it is, I have some neat tricks to keep you awake.

  1. Bring snacks to your lecture. I’ve learned that if I’m absent mindedly munching on some sliced apples or a handful of almonds, I’m paying attention to the professor. The mechanical movements preoccupy me from my boredom. Protip!! Do NOT bring chips as your snack! Chips are disruptive and the noise of your chewing may annoy the people around you. I’ve found that soft foods work the best.
  2. Sit next to your friend and make them wake you up when you’re falling asleep.
  3. Invent a game or make a bet with a friend in the same lecture so that way you have another motive to stay awake. My suitemate once bet a classmate of hers a box of Twix chocolates; the person who fell asleep had to buy the other person a 5 pound box of Twix. Long story short, my suitemate ordered a box, but managed to stay awake for most of the lecture. That’s progress! She usually sleeps through the entire class.

I hope you find these tips helpful! Let me know in the comments!

-Alexis

Leave a Reply

